Maybe need to supplement, feeling down

Breastfeeding does not always work out, this is a place to discuss your situation and feelings
maggie1

Maybe need to supplement, feeling down

Post by maggie1 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 7:02 pm

Hi I am new to motherhood and finding breastfeeding a bit difficult at the moment. My baby is just over a week old and we had an extended stay in hospital due to jaundice. I breastfed with a nippleshield in hospital as my nipples were extremely sore and he was getting topped up with formula. I was also expressing.
Since we have come home I have been feeling a bit up and down especially in the evenings. My baby constantly wants to feed and then he falls asleep but when I put him down he just wakes up again wanting to feed. I bought some formula just in case as my nipples are still a bit sore and the left one bled the other night. I haven't used the formula yet. I am still using the nippleshield and I am also expressing. Yesterday I was able to express 70mls but today not even 20mls. He has literally been feeding all day and fussing a lot. I am feeling really down and worrying that maybe he's not getting enough. (although I think he is as he has 5-6 wet nappies a day and a few dirty nappies also) Does anyone have any advice? Cheers

Andypandy

Post by Andypandy » Sat Feb 18, 2012 7:29 pm

Hi there. I am sorry you are having some trouble. It sounds like your baby is getting enough based on the wet and dirty nappies. It is also normal for babies to feed a lot in those early days. I promise it will settle down. As for the expressing: babies are far better at getting milk than we are at expressing. The amount you can express may differ from what your baby is getting.

Can I suggest calling a breastfeeding counsellor on 1800 686 268? It is a free call and there will be a fantastic counsellor who can put your mind at ease or give you some tips.

It sounds like you are doing a great job so far.
DS1: May 09 Breastfed 2y7m