Lack of Information inthe media

Emergencies happen, in urban and rural Australia. Breastfeeding during an emergency situation is important to keep babies safely hydrated and fed. Share your stories and information in this section.
kay

Lack of Information inthe media

Post by kay » Fri Jan 28, 2011 9:57 am

Thanks Karleen for suggesting this catergory. As a health professional I was concerned that during the flood crisis there has been little information disseminated in the media about infant feeding in an emergency. I know ABA released a media statement but unfortunately it wasn't widely reported. Maybe I just missed it in all the drama. I didn't see or hear anything from Qld. Health either. Maybe the media just doesn't understand how vulnerable babies are in these situations.
I would be interested to know from forumites how much coverage of our media statement they saw or heard?

Feebes

Post by Feebes » Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:03 am

Well I wasn't at all effected by the floods, but the only coverage that I read about, was on here. I didn't see anything in the media, not one thing.

I live in SA though, so maybe that had something to do with it??

Feebes
DD 02
DS 05
DD2 2010

TheSlayer
Trainee

Post by TheSlayer » Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:49 am

I live in QLD and had the blanket coverage of it on constantly during that week, and I never heard a thing in the media.

The only thing I saw was on the book courtesy of ABA; and then there were people driving around providing short term provisions in care packages; some of which included ABM.
Proud storker for Katsbi's and PrincessSpud's youngest princesses!

kay

lack of information in the media

Post by kay » Fri Jan 28, 2011 11:36 am

Perhaps we need a more stongly worded media release and/ or an opinion piece from an expert.( Karleen perhaps). It would be great if some of those popular morning shows picked it up.

Mummy woo!
Site Admin

Post by Mummy woo! » Fri Jan 28, 2011 11:40 am

I saw nothing here in Canberra.