Overlocker encouragement needed

For all your recipes, household hints and any other home related issues.
Marg
Community Educator

Overlocker encouragement needed

Post by Marg » Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:27 pm

This is so embarrassing.....just over two years ago I purchased a very good overlocker. It sits beautifully in its special cupboard inside my sewing table....BUT :oops: I have never had it out of its wrappers - yes - it has never been used - I am too scared to use it....I've never used an overlocker before, but surely it can't be that hard (I'm a competent sewer) ....I must use it tomorrow (part of my 2017 self improvement program) so I need all good vibes from forumites so that I can conquer my fears and learn a new skill....and maybe even make something to boot.
Mum to Monkey 15 (BF 2y2m), Possum 14 (BF1y2m) & Cupcake 12 (fully weaned at 5 1/2)

Esther

Re: Overlocker encouragement needed

Post by Esther » Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:09 pm

Do it!! I don't have one and think it would be so much easier with knits, which I haven't ever managed very well on a sewing machine :(

So try it on my behalf and tell me how good it is! :-D

Please, of course 8)
Esther
DD1 05, DS 08, BB 11, DD2 12
Storked by nat*4
Storked Ellie's Mum, foggylog, jessiemay, Ducks & nat*4

whitto04

Post by whitto04 » Fri Jan 06, 2017 7:42 am

Do it!!
I have a second hand overlocker, still with original box. I got it out long enough to convince DH that 'I need to keep it'. I made 4 skirts for my girls, then packed it back away- 2 years ago.
DD#1-1999, BF 12 months.
DD#2-2006, BF 5 yrs 8 months
DD#3-2009 (born at home), BF 4 yrs 2 months
DD#4-2012 (born at home), no longer sharing with her sister!
11 years of continuous lactation!!!!!

JennyD
Counsellor

Post by JennyD » Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:03 am