Relactation at 10wks old HELP!!!

An area to discuss relactation and adoptive breastfeeding.
SammiW

Relactation at 10wks old HELP!!!

Post by SammiW » Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:12 am

Hi there ladies - im new to the ABA forum so forgive me if in not quite up to date on all the abbreviations yet!

My DD now 10wks old and i stopped bf at 2wks old after a rough start and not muc support.
DD is my 2nd bub - my first was sick and in NICU for a month. I expressed that whole time and went on to bf him for 8months.
This time around i had a few major PPH and ened up in ICU for 49hrs PP and needing 3 units of blood. That combined with a baby who IMO wasnt latching or sucking properly and fighting with nurses who were telling me she looked as though she was fine - i went home with cracked, sore and bleeding nipples.
I gave up at 2wks as crying in pain and frustration wasnt exactly ideal.
Im not satisfied with that! I want to bf again.

Ive got no milk supply at all and its been 8wks since bf.

Ive contacted ABA for e councelling.
Ive got an appt at my local health clinic to get some support and also find out if my area has a lactation consulatant (i dont believe they do).
Ive got Fenugreek tablets.
Ive got a Recipe for Lactation Cookies.
Ive got a diet thats good for bub and ive starting drinking truckloads of water.
Ive got great support from my partner and a few close friends but thats all im telling for now - i dont need others questioning my reasons.

Im just after some success stories and some tips from others that can help me on my way. :-)
Cooper 14/09/09 Addison 17/12/11
Perfect little pidgeon pair :)

Parla.
Counsellor

Post by Parla. » Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:34 am

Looks like you've taken lots of positive steps. Lots of low pressure opportunities to latch on seems to work best for encouraging them back to the breast. On the water - you don't need extreme amounts, drinking to thirst is generally fine for breastfeeding mothers. Keep us updated if you can.

Lilypad